Bendigo East District profile

Features of the District

Location:Bendigo East District is an urbanised rural electorate located north-west of Melbourne.
Area:2,711 square kilometres.
Towns:Bendigo East, Dingee, Elmore, Epsom, Flora Hill, Goornong, Huntly, Kennington, Raywood, Serpentine, Spring Gully, Strathdale, Strathfieldsaye and White Hills. Parts of Bendigo, Big Hill, Eaglehawk, Golden Square and Ravenswood.
Features:The District includes the western end of Lake Eppalock, the Bendigo campus of La Trobe University and the Bendigo racecourse. The city of Bendigo was a major gold mining centre in the nineteenth century and is a popular tourist destination. Industries include mining, dairy and sheep farming, fruit growing, manufacturing and tourism.
Upper House
Northern Victoria Region