Buninyong District profile

Features of the District

Location:Buninyong District is a partly urbanised regional electorate located west of Melbourne.
Area:3,107 square kilometres.
Towns:Ballan, Bungaree, Buninyong, Canadian, Clarendon, Elaine, Eureka, Gordon, Lethbridge, Linton, Meredith, Mount Clear, Mount Egerton, Mount Pleasant, Napoleons, Scarsdale, Sebastopol, Smythesdale and Warrenheip. Parts of Bakery Hill, Ballarat East, Brown Hill and Maddingley.
Features:Ballarat is Victoria’s largest inland city and was one of the main goldmining centres in Australia in the nineteenth century. Ballarat is a significant tourist centre. The District includes the Brisbane Ranges National Park, the Enfield State Park and Lal Lal Falls. Industries in the region include agriculture and grazing.
Upper House
Western Victoria Region
Statistical profile based on 2011 Census data (link to pdf)

Sitting Member

Geoff Howard - ALP (Parliament website, external link)

Election Results

2014 State election results – Buninyong District

Historical pattern