Morwell District profile

Features of the District

Location:Morwell District is a mixed urban and rural electorate located south-east of Melbourne.
Area:1,640 square kilometres.
Towns:Boolarra, Churchill, Cowwarr, Glengarry, Hazelwood, Loy Yang, Maryvale, Morwell, Newborough, Toongabbie, Traralgon, Traralgon South, Tyers, Yallourn North and Yinnar.
Features:Brown coal mining and electricity generation are major industries in the area, together with wood pulp and paper manufacturing. Other industries include agriculture and timber production. The Strzelecki Ranges dominate the south of the District.
Upper House
Eastern Victoria Region