Mount Alexander Shire Council profile

Mount Alexander Shire is divided into five wards. Tarrengower Ward includes Nuggetty, Baringhup, Maldon and part of Walmer. Calder Ward includes Ravenswood South, Harcourt, Sutton Grange and part of Walmer. Loddon Ward includes Welshmans Reef, Newstead, Sandon, Yapeen and Guildford. Castlemaine Ward includes Castlemaine. Coliban Ward includes Chewton, Elphinstone, Metcalfe, Fryerstown and Taradale.

From the October 2012 Council elections, Loddon Ward is renamed Loddon River Ward.

Features of the council

Mount Alexander Shire Council covers 1528.81 sqKm.

Mount Alexander Shire is divided into five wards. There is a total of seven councillors.

Current Councillors

Calder Ward (1 councillor)

Castlemaine Ward (3 councillors)
MACHIN, Bronwen
LESSER, Max Bert (council countback results)
PETRUSMA, Dave (council countback results)

Coliban Ward (1 councillor)
HENDERSON, Christine

Loddon River Ward (1 councillor)

Tarrengower Ward (1 councillor)
GARDNER, Stephen William (council by-election)

This structure came into effect at the November 2005 election as a result of an electoral representation review conducted in 2004-2005. For more information about the review, visit the Mount Alexander Shire representation review page.

You can find out more about the Mount Alexander Shire Council by visiting its website: (external link).