Polwarth District profile

Features of the District

Location:Polwarth District is a rural electorate located south-west of Melbourne.
Area:12,561 square kilometres.
Towns:Aireys Inlet, Anglesea, Apollo Bay, Bannockburn, Barwon Downs, Beeac, Beech Forest, Birregurra, Camperdown, Cobden, Colac, Coragulac, Cressy, Deans Marsh, Derrinallum, Forrest, Inverleigh, Lismore, Lorne, Mortlake, Noorat, Peterborough, Pirron Yallock, Port Campbell, Rokewood, Simpson, Skipton, Terang, Timboon, Winchelsea and Wye River.
Features:The District includes the centre of the Western District, one of the most fertile dairying and pastoral areas in Victoria. Industries include the manufacture of cheese, butter and other dairy products, timber and sawmilling, vegetable growing, cattle and sheep farming, and tourism. Polwarth District has a number of natural features, such as the Otway Ranges, Lake Colac, Lake Corangamite, and well-known seaside resorts such as Apollo Bay, Lorne and Port Campbell.
Upper House
Western Victoria Region
Statistical profile based on 2011 Census data (link to pdf)

Sitting Member

Richard Riordan - Liberal (Parliament website, external link)

Election Results

31 October 2015 by-election results - Polwarth District
2014 State election results – Polwarth District
2010 State election results – Polwarth District
2006 State election results – Polwarth District
2002 State election results – Polwarth District

Historical pattern

1899-1902Conservative Liberal
1909-17Fusion Liberal/Liberal