Candidates announced for Buloke Shire Council postal by-election

Wednesday 14 September 2022

For immediate release

A total of 6 candidates have nominated in the Buloke Shire Council, Mallee Ward by-election.

The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:

HOGAN, Bernadette

MARTIN, Zachary

DELANEY, Charmaine

O’DEA, Kevin Thomas

MUSCAT, Jennifer


Candidate statements and responses to a questionnaire about their background and qualifications will be available online at later this week.

The Buloke Shire Council, Mallee Ward by-election will be conducted entirely by post. Voters who were correctly enrolled for Mallee Ward by 4 pm on Friday 19 August will receive a ballot pack, which they must complete and return as soon as possible using the reply-paid envelope provided. Ballot packs will be mailed from Tuesday 27 September.

Voters can also hand-deliver their completed ballot papers to the election office located at 370 Broadway, Wycheproof on weekdays from Monday 10 October to Friday 14 October. Office hours are from 9 am to 5 pm, with extended hours on Thursday 13 October (9 am to 8 pm) and Friday 14 October (9 am to 6 pm).

Voting closes at 6 pm on Friday 14 October. Election Manager John Lyons advised voters to vote well ahead of the closing time.

‘You need to post or hand-deliver your completed ballot paper by the deadline to make your vote count,’ Mr Lyons said.

‘Local mail clearance times may be earlier than the close of voting, so don’t leave it to the last minute.’

Further information on the Buloke Shire Council, Mallee Ward by-election is available online at