Candidates announced for Hindmarsh Shire Council by-election

Wednesday 4 November 2020

For immediate release

A total of three candidates have nominated in the Hindmarsh Shire Council, East Ward by‑election.

The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:



JOHNSON, Christopher

Candidate statements, and responses to a questionnaire about their background and qualifications will be available online at from Friday 6 November.

The by-election will be conducted entirely by post. Voters who were correctly enrolled for East Ward by 4 pm on Friday 28 August will receive a ballot pack, which they must complete and return as soon as possible using the reply-paid envelope.

Voters can also hand-deliver ballot material to the election office during business hours. The election office is located at Jeparit Hall, 10–12 Roy Street, Jeparit.

Voting closes at 6 pm on Friday 4 December. Electoral Commissioner Warwick Gately advised voters to vote well ahead of the closing time.

‘You need to post or hand-deliver your completed ballot papers by the deadline to make your vote count,’ Mr Gately said.

‘Local mail clearance times may be earlier than the close of voting, so don’t leave it to the last minute.’

Further information on the Hindmarsh Shire Council by-election