Call for candidates for upcoming Maroondah City Council by-election

Wednesday 9 February 2022

For immediate release

A total of 10 candidates have nominated in the Maroondah City Council, Wonga Ward by-election.

The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:

NESS, Jessica

KENT, Steve


JONES, Chris

MOON, Sebastian


VOS, Jake

NORDIO, Caroline



Candidate statements and responses to a questionnaire about their background and qualifications will be available online later this week.

The Maroondah City Council, Wonga Ward by-election will be conducted entirely by post. Voters who were correctly enrolled for Wonga Ward by 4 pm on Friday 21 January 2022 will receive a ballot pack, which they must complete and return as soon as possible using the reply-paid envelope provided. Ballot packs will be mailed from Tuesday 22 February.

Voters can also hand-deliver their completed ballot papers to the election office located at 49a Mount Dandenong Road, Ringwood East on weekdays until Friday 11 March. Office hours are from 9 am to 5 pm, with extended hours on Thursday 10 March (9 am to 8 pm) and Friday 11 March (9 am to 6 pm).

Voting closes at 6 pm on Friday 11 March. Election Manager Bill Kennedy advised voters to vote well ahead of the closing time.

'You need to post or hand-deliver your completed ballot paper by the deadline to make your vote count,' Mr Kennedy said.

'Local mail clearance times may be earlier than the close of voting, so don't leave it to the last minute.