Candidates announced for Northern Grampians Shire Council by-election

Wednesday 20 January 2021

For immediate release

A total of four candidates have nominated in the Northern Grampians Shire Council, Kara Kara Ward by-election.

The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:



THOOLEN, Catriona Cecilia


Candidate statements and responses to a questionnaire about their background and qualifications will be available later this week.

The by-election will be conducted entirely by post. Voters who were correctly enrolled by 4 pm on Friday 18 December 2020 will receive a ballot pack, which they must complete and return as soon as possible using the reply-paid envelope provided. Ballot packs will be mailed from Tuesday 2 February.

Voters can also hand-deliver their completed ballot papers to the election office located at Media Centre, Grandstand 1, Central Park, 14-28 Main Street, Stawell on weekdays from Monday 15 February until Friday 19 February. Office hours are from 9 am to 5 pm, with extended hours on Thursday 18 February (9 am to 8 pm) and Friday 19 February (9 am to 6 pm).

Voting closes at 6 pm on Friday 19 February. Election Manager Clarissa Hyland advised voters to vote well ahead of the closing time. 

'You need to post or hand-deliver your completed ballot papers by the deadline to make your vote count,’ Ms Hyland said.

‘Local mail clearance times may be earlier than the close of voting, so don’t leave it to the last minute.’

Further information on the Northern Grampians Shire Council, Kara Kara Ward by-election.