New councillor for Mitchell Shire Council

Friday 11 March 2022

For immediate release

David Andrew Lowe has been elected as a councillor for South Ward within Mitchell Shire Council, after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 10 am on Wednesday 9 March.

The Election Manager, Charmaine Morel, declared the result yesterday after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2020.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor Christine Banks.