New councillor for Moira Shire Council

Friday 21 January 2022

For immediate release

John Beitzel has been elected as a councillor for Moira Shire Council, after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 10 am on Wednesday 19 January.

The Election Manager, Mary Facci, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2020.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor Marie Martin.