Electoral structure reviews begin for 39 councils

Purple icon with text reading "Have your say" and an icon of the state of Victoria with a map pin in the middle.

Next month, electoral structure reviews commence for 39 local councils across Victoria to ensure they comply with the Local Government Act 2020 (the Act).

Electoral structure reviews aim to ensure all local council electoral structures comply with the Act.

The Act introduced several changes, including that the responsibility for the conduct of local government electoral structure reviews has shifted from the VEC to electoral representation advisory panels. The Minister for Local Government appoints the panels and for this review program, has appointed 2 panels with 3 members each including the Electoral Commissioner or their delegate. We provide administrative and technical support to the panels.

Under further changes to the Act, single-councillor wards are now the default structure for all councils, except for small rural shire councils, which may also have:

  • unsubdivided wards
  • multi-councillor wards with an equal number of councillors per ward

The electoral structure review program consists of 3 rounds, with 10 groups of councils divided across the rounds. Ward boundary reviews will then take place in 2024.

Round one of the reviews begins in January 2023 and includes:

  • Group one:
    • Buloke Shire Council
    • Gannawarra Shire Council
    • Northern Grampians Shire Council
    • Yarriambiack Shire Council
  • Group 2:
    • Corangamite Shire Council
    • Surf Coast Shire Council
    • Campaspe Shire Council
    • Strathbogie Shire Council
  • Group 3:
    • Hepburn Shire Council
    • Moorabool Shire Council
    • Central Goldfields Shire Council
    • Mount Alexander Shire Council