Friday, 5 April 2013
For immediate release

Voting options for Lyndhurst District electors

Enrolling and voting on the spot for the Lyndhurst District by-election will be an option for eligible people who missed the close of roll early last month, according to Acting Electoral Commissioner, Liz Williams.

Ms Williams said: ‘Australian citizens aged 18 or over, who have lived in Lyndhurst District for over a month, and who are not enrolled, can enrol and cast a provisional vote upon presentation of approved identification at early and election day voting centres.’

Proof of identification can take the form of:

  • a driver licence or learner permit;
  • a council rates notice in the elector's name; or
  • an electricity bill in the elector's name for their current address.

Voting centres will be open from 8.00 am to 6.00 pm on election day, Saturday, 27 April. Electors who are still enrolled outside Lyndhurst District will not be able to vote in this by-election.

Electors unable to vote on election day have the option of voting at an early voting centre. Early voting centres are open between 8.30 am and 6.00 pm on weekdays from Tuesday, 2 April to Friday, 26 April (including ANZAC Day), with extended hours on Saturday, 20 April (9.00 am to 2.00 pm) and Wednesday, 24 April (8.30 am to 8.00 pm).

Those unable to vote at any voting centre can apply for a postal vote. Postal voting application forms can be obtained from any post office in Lyndhurst District, the VEC website ( ) or by calling 1300 551 081. Electors should ensure their completed ballot papers are posted before 6.00 pm on election day.

Voting is compulsory for all electors on the roll for Lyndhurst District at the close of roll on Tuesday, 12 March.

— ENDS —

Media enquiries:
Sue Lang
Communication, Education and Research Branch
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1239
Email: sue.lang

Where to vote

The VEC will operate 15 voting centres throughout Lyndhurst District from 8.00 am to 6.00 pm on election day:

  • Athol Road Primary School — West Campus
    159–167 Athol Road
    Springvale South FWA
  • Dandenong South Primary School
    52 Kirkham Road
    Dandenong South FWA
  • Hampton Park Primary School
    corner Regans and Somerville Roads
    Hampton Park NWA
  • Hampton Park Secondary College
    58–96 Fordholm Road
    Hampton Park FWA
  • Heatherhill Primary School
    959 Heatherton Road
    Springvale FWA
  • Isik College — Keysborough Campus
    139 Chapel Road
    Keysborough FWA
  • Keysborough College — Acacia Campus
    28 Isaac Road
    Keysborough FWA
  • Keysborough College — Banksia Campus
    8–20 Janine Road
    Springvale South AWA
  • Keysborough Primary School
    33 Coomoora Road
    Springvale South FWA
  • Lighthouse Christian College
    927–937 Springvale Road
    Keysborough FWA
  • Lynbrook Primary School
    corner Paterson Drive and Ronans Retreat
    Lynbrook AWA
  • Lyndhurst Primary School
    70 Brookwater Parade (access via Boland Drive)
    Lyndhurst AWA
  • Noble Park Primary School
    65 Buckley Street
    Noble Park AWA
  • Springvale Rise Primary School — Springvale Campus
    355a Springvale Road
    Springvale AWA
  • Wallarano Primary School
    38–64 Wallarano Drive
    Noble Park AWA

Early voting is available until Friday, 26 April 2013 at:

  • Lyndhurst Early Voting Centre, Shop 2 & 3, 31–32 Douglas Street, Noble Park (AWA); and
  • Hampton Park Early Voting Centre, Shop 68, 166 Somerville Road, Hampton Park (AWA).

Early Voting Centres are open at the following times:

  • 8.30 am–6.00 pm weekdays, until Friday, 26 April (including ANZAC Day)
  • 9.00 am–2.00 pm Saturday, 20 April
  • 8.30 am–8.00 pm Wednesday, 24 April

FWA: Fully wheelchair accessible
AWA: Assisted wheelchair access
NWA: Not wheelchair accessible