Friday 27 February 2015
For immediate release

Candidates announced for Gippsland South District by-election

Eight candidates have nominated in the Gippsland South District by-election. The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:

  • SANDERS, Warren
  • PEPPER, Viv
  • MEESTER, Deb
  • O'BRIEN, Danny
  • DONOHUE, Gerard J.
  • McDONALD, Jim
  • MILLSOM, Andrea
  • ROSSETTI, Scott

Election day is Saturday 14 March and voting is compulsory for all electors enrolled in Gippsland South District.

Electors unable to vote on election day can vote early at an early voting centre. Early voting is available from Monday 2 March at 1 Church Street, Leongatha and 348 Raymond Street, Sale.

Early voting centres will open between 8.30 am and 6.00 pm, Monday to Friday, until Friday 13 March. Both venues will be closed on Labour Day (Monday 9 March) but will have extended opening hours on:

  • Saturday 7 March, 9.00 am to 2.00 pm
  • Thursday 12 March, 8.30 am to 8.00 pm.

Those unable to vote early or on election day can apply for a postal vote. Applications for postal votes must be received by 6.00 pm on Thursday 12 March and completed ballot papers must be in the mail or handed to a voting centre manager before 6.00 pm on election day, Saturday 14 March.

Further information on the Gippsland South District by-election is available online at

- ENDS -

Media enquiries:

Mary Sammut
Communication Officer
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1190