Thursday 17 September 2015
For immediate release

Timeline for State by-elections set for October

By-elections will be held on Saturday 31 October for Polwarth District and South-West Coast District. The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Telmo Languiller, issued a writ for both by-elections today.

The by-elections were triggered by the resignations of Terry Mulder and Denis Napthine on Thursday 3 September 2015.

Electoral Commissioner Warwick Gately said: ‘Voting is compulsory for all electors in Polwarth District and South-West Coast District’.

The VEC will write to enrolled voters in each District prior to election day to detail the location of all early voting and election day voting centres.

‘I urge all electors to check their enrolment details are current to avoid any fines. All enrolment forms must reach the Victorian Electoral Commission by the close of rolls at 8.00 pm on Thursday 24 September.’

Voters can enrol or update their enrolment details at or pick up an enrolment form at any Australia Post or Australian Electoral Commission office.

Information about enrolling, voting or standing for election is available on the VEC website at or by calling 131 832.

- ENDS -

Note: District maps and the timeline follow.

Media enquiries:

Mike Lagastes
Communication Team Leader
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1189


Media information

Polwarth District map

Map of Polwarth District

A detailed map is available for download:

South-West Coast District map

Map of South-West Coast District

A detailed map is available for download:

Timeline for by-elections

Issue of the writ Thursday 17 September
Nominations open 9.00 am Friday 18 September
Close of electoral roll 8.00 pm Thursday 24 September
Close of nominations for registered
political party candidates
12 noon Thursday 1 October
Close of nominations for independent candidates 12 noon Friday 2 October
Ballot draw From 1.00 pm Friday 2 October
Registration of how-to-vote-cards opens Monday 5 October
Early voting commences Monday 5 October
Registration of how-to-vote cards closes 12 noon Friday 23 October
Close of postal voting applications 6.00 pm Thursday 29 October
Early Voting closes 6.00 pm Friday 30 October
ELECTION DAY Saturday 31 October
Last day for votes to be admitted to count Monday 9 November
Return of writ On or before Friday 20 November