Friday 18 September 2015
For immediate release

Call for candidates for Polwarth and South-West Coast by-elections

Nominations for the Polwarth District and South-West Coast District by-elections are now open. Both by-elections are being held on Saturday 31 October.

Electoral Commissioner Warwick Gately said: ‘Prospective candidates should act quickly to ensure they don’t miss out on lodging their nomination’.

Registered political parties must nominate their endorsed candidates by 12 noon on Thursday 1 October directly with the VEC at Level 11, 530 Collins Street, Melbourne.

For independent candidates, a completed nomination form must be lodged with the respective District Election Manager by 12 noon on Friday 2 October:

  • Polwarth District Election Office,
    310-312 Murray Street, Colac.
    Election Manager: Elizabeth Reeves
  • South-West Coast District Election Office,
    171A Liebig Street, Warrnambool.
    Election Manager: Ian Sadler

A nomination fee of $350 applies to all nominations. Appointments are encouraged.

To help reduce time while applications are being processed, independent candidates are encouraged to pre-fill their nomination form at using the Candidate Helper. The nomination form must then be printed, signed and lodged with the Election Manager along with the nomination fee.

An information session for independent candidates, discussing the key requirements and responsibilities of nominating for a State by-election, will be held at the respective District election office:

  • 4.00 pm on Wednesday 23 September
    Polwarth District Election Office
  • 4.00 pm on Wednesday 23 September
    South-West Coast District Election Office

Nomination forms and the Candidate Handbook are available online at or by contacting the Election Manager.

A ballot draw to determine the position of the candidates on the ballot paper will take place at each Election Office from 1.00 pm on Friday 2 October. Candidates and members of the media are invited to attend.

Details of nominated candidates will be progressively published on the VEC website.

- ENDS -

Media enquiries:

Mike Lagastes
Communication Team Leader
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1189