Thursday 12 October, 2017
For immediate release

Countback to fill vacancy in Castlemaine Ward, Mount Alexander Shire Council

A countback for Castlemaine Ward will take place on Monday 20 November, following the resignation of Councillor Tony Bell.

The countback will take place at 11.00 am in the Ray Bradfield Room, Victory Park, Forest Street, Castlemaine.

‘Voters do not need to vote again in a countback as the ballot papers from the previous election are used. In a countback, votes for the vacating councillor from the last election are redistributed to unsuccessful candidates according to the voters' preferences. A candidate who receives more than 50% of the votes is declared elected,’ Returning Officer Charmaine Morel said.

Interested parties may attend and observe the countback. Results will be published online at and also in local newspapers.

Vacancy in Tarrengower Ward

A by-election for the Tarrengower Ward in Mount Alexander Shire Council will be held following the resignation of Councillor Sharon Telford.

A by-election occurs if a councillor in a single councillor ward resigns. Only voters enrolled in Tarrengower Ward will be required to vote.

The timeline for the by-election will be confirmed following a direction from the Minister for Local Government.

— ENDS —

Media enquiries:

Christine Gounder
Senior Communication Officer
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1196
Level 11, 530 Collins St, Melbourne 3000