Monday 13 November 2017
For immediate release

New councillor for Wangaratta Rural City Council

Ashlee Fitzpatrick has been elected as a councillor for City Ward within Wangaratta Rural City Council after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 1.00 pm today.

The Returning Officer, Charmaine Morel, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2016.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the passing of Councillor Ruth Amery.

Media enquiries:

Christine Gounder
Senior Communications Officer
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1196