Wednesday 22 November, 2017
For immediate release

New councillor for Castlemaine Ward

Dave Petrusma has been elected as a councillor for Castlemaine Ward within Mount Alexander Shire Council after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 11.30 am today.

The Returning Officer, Charmaine Morel, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2016.

A second countback was held after the successful candidate from the countback held on Monday 20 November failed to lodge a written declaration as to his eligibility to become a councillor.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor Tony Bell.

Media enquiries:

Christine Gounder
Senior Communication Officer
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1196
Level 11, 530 Collins St, Melbourne 3000