Thursday 30 November, 2017
For immediate release

New councillor for Ararat Rural City Council

Bill Braithwaite has been elected as a councillor within Ararat Rural City Council, after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 10.30 am yesterday.

The Returning Officer, Phillippa Heskett, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2016.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor Paul Hooper.

Media enquiries:

Christine Gounder
Senior Communication Officer
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1196
Level 11, 530 Collins St, Melbourne 3000