Thursday 18 January 2018
For immediate release

Candidates announced for Mount Alexander Shire Council by-election

A total of three candidates have nominated in the Mount Alexander Shire Council by-election. The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:

  • GARDNER, Stephen William
  • ADAMS, Jenny
  • FITZGERALD, Christine Kaye

Candidate statements and responses to the questionnaire, where provided, are available online at

The by-election will be conducted entirely by postal voting. Electors who were correctly enrolled by 4.00 pm on Friday 15 December 2017 will be sent a ballot pack, which must be completed and returned as soon as possible using the reply paid envelope.

Alternatively, ballot material can be hand-delivered to the election office during business hours from Monday 12 February, 2018. The election office is located at Red Gum Room, Mount Alexander Civic Centre, 27 Lyttleton Street, Castlemaine.

Completed ballot material must be posted or in the hands of the Returning Officer before 6.00 pm on Friday 16 February 2018, when voting closes. Local mail clearance times may be earlier than the close of voting. Ballot material must be mailed before the final clearance times in the last week of voting.

Further information on the Mount Alexander Shire Council by-election is available online at

Media enquiries:

Christine Gounder
Senior Communications Officer
Victorian Electoral Commission
(03) 8620 1196
Level 11, 530 Collins St, Melbourne 3000