Friday 8 June 2018
For immediate release

New councillor for Ararat Rural City Council

Frank Deutsch has been elected as a councillor for Ararat Rural City Council, after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 11.30 am on Wednesday 6 June 2018.

The Returning Officer, Charmaine Morel, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2016.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor Darren Ford.

Media enquiries:

Mike Lagastes
Manager Communication
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1189
Mobile: 0458 390 540