Tuesday 8 January 2019
For immediate release

New councillor for Greater Dandenong City Council

Sophie Tan has been elected as a councillor for Paperbark Ward within Greater Dandenong City Council, after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 10.30 am today.

The Returning Officer, Charmaine Morel, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2016.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor Meng Heang Tak.

Media enquiries:

Marie Guerin
Senior Media & Communication Advisor
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1363
Mobile: 0419 366 889
Email: marie.guerin@vec.vic.gov.au