Wednesday 23 January
For immediate release

Swan Hill Rural City Council by-elections set for 30 March

By-elections will be held this March for Murray-Mallee Ward and Robinvale Ward within Swan Hill Rural City Council.

The by-elections were triggered by the resignation of Councillors Gary Norton and John Katis from Murray-Mallee Ward and Robinvale Ward respectively. The by-elections will be held entirely by post.

Returning Officer for the two by-elections, Colin Riley, has issued a call to Murray-Mallee and Robinvale residents and ratepayers to be ready to have their say.

‘You must be correctly enrolled by the close of roll, which is 4.00 pm on Friday 1 February. If you’re an Australian citizen and you’ve recently turned 18, or recently moved and haven’t updated your address, enrol online at by the close of roll,’ Mr Riley said.

There are also special enrolment categories for owners, occupiers, company nominees and people who are not Australian citizens but do pay rates for an address in Murray-Mallee and Robinvale wards.

‘If you’re a landlord for a property in Murray-Mallee or Robinvale wards, you run a business or you’re not an Australian citizen but you pay rates and you would like to vote, you can apply to the Swan Hill Rural City Council to be enrolled. Call the council before 4.00 pm on Friday 1 February on (03) 5036 2333 for further details.

‘Remember, voting in local government elections is compulsory if you’re an Australian citizen between the ages of 18 and 70, and we strongly encourage eligible people over the age of 70 to have their say.

‘Local governments make decisions regarding community facilities and services that affect all local residents and the local business community, so it’s important that a range of voices are represented through voting in this by-election.’

Across both Murray-Mallee and Robinvale wards, around 4,000 Victorians are enrolled. The two wards include the Manangatang, Boundary Bend, Nyah West and Robinvale areas.

Media enquiries:

Mike Lagastes
Manager, Communication
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1189