Wednesday 18 September 2019
For immediate release

New councillor for Buloke Shire Council

Bronwyn Mary Simpson has been elected as a councillor for Lower Avoca Ward within Buloke Shire Council, after the Victorian Electoral Commission conducted a countback of votes at 10.00 am yesterday.

The Returning Officer, Phillippa Heskett, declared the result after a countback of votes from the general election held in October 2016.

Only those candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election and who were still eligible to be elected were included in the countback process.

The extraordinary vacancy arose due to the resignation of Councillor John J. Shaw.

Media enquiries:

Marie Guerin
Senior Media & Communication Advisor
Victorian Electoral Commission
Phone: (03) 8620 1363
Mobile: 0419 366 889