Bayside City Council representation reviews

We are holding a representation review of Bayside City Council and you can have your say.

What is a representation review?

Representation reviews look at the electoral structure of a local council. This includes:

  • if the council has the right number of councillors per voter
  • if the council should be one large area (unsubdivided) or made up of wards (subdvidided)
  • if subdivided, how many wards, what ward boundaries and how many councillors each ward should have.

Read more information about representation reviews

Can I have a say?

The submissions period has now closed. We will publish our final report on Wednesday 9 October 2019.

You can download our preliminary report and the options we are considering below.

Preliminary report

Options being considered

Option A:

Option B:

To view KML files, you will need Geographic Information Systems software such as Google Earth.

Public hearing

If you make a submission, you can request to speak in support of it at a public hearing.

The public hearing will take place:

7.00 pm Monday 16 September 2019
Council Chambers, Civic Centre
15 Boxshall Street, Brighton

The hearing will not be held if there are no requests to speak.

Sign up for updates

If you would like to know more about this review’s progress, you can sign up to receive email updates.

Complete a sign up form

Key dates

Monday 17 June 2019 7.00 pm – public information session
Bayside Corporate Centre, 76 Royal Avenue, Sandringham
Wednesday 19 June 2019 Preliminary submissions open
Wednesday 17 July 2019 5.00 pm - preliminary submissions close
Wednesday 14 August 2019 Preliminary report published
Response submissions open
Wednesday 11 September 2019 5.00 pm - response submissions close
Monday 16 September 2019 7.00 pm – public hearing
Council Chambers, Civic Centre, 15 Boxshall Street, Brighton
Wednesday 9 October 2019 Final report release
Date Submitter
14 August 2019 LEA, David - written submission (PDF, 40kB)
15 August 2019 SCREEN, Derek - written submission (PDF, 29kB)
16 August 2019 SAUNDERS, Robert - written submission (PDF, 15kB)
22 August 2019 NEWMAN, Adam - written submission (PDF, 24kB)
4 September 2019 BAYSIDE CITY COUNCIL - written submission (PDF, 1.1MB)
4 September 2019 FARROW, Ian - written submission (PDF, 17kB)
10 September 2019 PRSAV-T - written submission (PDF, 77kB)
11 September 2019 NORRIS, Michael - written submission (PDF, 41kB)

* To open KMZ format files, you will need Geographic Information Systems software such as Google Earth.

Disclaimer: the views expressed in submissions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of the Victorian Electoral Commission.

If you would like to receive any of these files in a different format, please email the representation reviews team.

Who can attend a public hearing?

The public hearing is open to the public and anyone with an interest in the review may attend.

Who can speak at a public hearing?

People or organisations who have made a response submission and requested to speak or have been requested to speak by the panel.

How will I know if my request to speak at a public hearing has been scheduled?

You will be contacted to confirm your speaking time and the date, time and location of the public hearing.

Who will I be speaking to?

At least three members of our representation review panel will listen to and ask questions of each speaker at the public hearing. This may include the Electoral Commissioner and/or Deputy Electoral Commissioner. The list of the panel members will be provided to those who have been scheduled to speak.

How long do I have to speak?

10 minutes.

If the panel asks a question of me, what will it be about?

Questions will generally be asked to clarify aspects of your written submission or to seek your views on other matters to do with the review. The panel will often ask speakers about evidence or opinions provided by other submitters.

How should I address the panel?

You may call the chairperson of the panel ‘Chair’. You may address the other panel members as ‘Mr/Ms [Surname]’. Panel members will be identified by nameplates.

Can I provide further documentation to the panel at the public hearing?

No. We can only accept written submissions during the submission period and hear those who have requested to speak at a public hearing.

I would like to be heard at a public hearing but cannot attend in person. What other options do I have?

The panel may agree to you speaking at the public hearing by teleconference. Please contact us by calling 131 832 or email us to enquire about this option.

Will the public hearing be accessible?

We have made efforts to ensure that public hearing venues are accessible, but if you have any queries or concerns please call us on 131 832 or email us

English is not my first language. Can someone translate for me?

Yes. Please notify us of your needs by calling 131 832 or by email us so we can arrange for an interpreter.

Date Submitter
23 June 2019 SAUNDERS, Robert - written submission (PDF, 624kB)
24 June 2019 SCREEN, Derek - written submission (PDF, 32kB)
SCREEN, Derek - mapping submission (KML, 99kB)
10 July 2019 YOUNG, Denis - written submission (PDF, 18kB)
13 July 2019 Beaumaris Conservation Society Inc - written submission (PDF, 707kB)
14 July 2019 MOREY, Stephen - written submission (PDF, 1.4MB)
15 July 2019 PRSAV_T INC - written submission (PDF, 153kB)
16 July 2019 BAYSIDE CITY COUNCIL - written submission (PDF, 653kB)
BAYSIDE CITY COUNCIL - mapping submission (KML, 100kB)
16 July 2019 RAVERTY, Susan - written submission (PDF, 19kB)
16 July 2019 SYMMONS, Scott - written submission (PDF, 16kB)
16 July 2019 FARROW, Ian - written submission (PDF, 95kB)
FARROW, Ian - mapping submission (KML, 99kB)
17 July 2019 HOWARD, Kevin - written submission (PDF, 633kB)

* To open KML format files, you will need Geographic Information Systems software such as Google Earth (requires Google Chrome).

Disclaimer: the views expressed in submissions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of the Victorian Electoral Commission.

If you would like to receive any of these files in a different format, please email the representation reviews team.

2007 representation review

Submission guide

Find out what kind of issues you can raise when you make a submission to the review.

Council factsheet

Read more information about Bayside City Council’s current electoral structure.