Cardinia Shire Council representation and subdivision review

We are holding a representation review of Cardinia Shire Council and you can have a say.

This is your chance to let us know your thoughts about how well your community is represented.

What is a representation review?

Representation reviews look at the electoral structure of a local council. This includes:

  • if the council has the right number of councillors per voter
  • if the council should be one large area (unsubdivided) or made up of wards (subdivided)
  • if subdivided, how many wards, what ward boundaries and how many councillors each ward should have.

Read more information about representation reviews

Have your say

We have published a preliminary report after a round of submissions that closed on Wednesday 4 December. You can now tell us your views on the options in the report.

Preliminary report

Options

Option A:

Option B:

To view KML files, you will need Geographic Information Systems software such as Google Earth.

Make a submission

This round of submissions closes at 5.00 pm on Wednesday 4 March 2020.

You must address the proposed options detailed in the report and maps above.

Public hearing

If you make a submission, you can request to speak in support of it at a public hearing.

The public hearing will take place:

7.00 pm Tuesday, 10 March 2020
Council Chamber, Civic Centre, 20 Siding Avenue, Officer.

The hearing will not be held if there are no requests to speak.

Sign up for updates

If you would like to know more about this review’s progress, you can sign up to receive email updates.

Complete a sign up form

Date Submitter
10 February 2020 JONES, Lorris - written submission (PDF, 58kB)
20 February 2020 NEWMAN, Adam - written submission (PDF, 16kB)

* To open KMZ format files, you will need Geographic Information Systems software such as Google Earth.

Disclaimer: the views expressed in submissions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of the Victorian Electoral Commission.

If you would like to receive any of these files in a different format, please email the representation reviews team.

Who can attend a public hearing?

The public hearing is open to the public and anyone with an interest in the review may attend.

How can I request to speak at a public hearing?

Our online submission tool will give you the option to indicate if you would like to speak at the public hearing. If you are making a submission through another method, make sure you include a line to tell us you would like to speak.

Who can speak at a public hearing?

People or organisations who have made a response submission and requested to speak or have been requested to speak by the panel.

How will I know if my request to speak at a public hearing has been scheduled?

We will contact you to confirm your speaking time and the date, time and location of the public hearing.

Who will I be speaking to?

At least three members of our representation review panel will listen to and ask questions of each speaker at the public hearing. This may include the Electoral Commissioner and/or Deputy Electoral Commissioner. The list of the panel members will be provided to those who have been scheduled to speak.

How long do I have to speak?

Ten minutes.

If the panel asks a question of me, what will it be about?

Questions will generally be asked to clarify aspects of your written submission or to seek your views on other matters to do with the review. The panel will often ask speakers about evidence or opinions provided by other submitters.

How should I address the panel?

You may call the chairperson of the panel ‘Chair’. You may address the other panel members as ‘Mr/Ms [Surname]’. Panel members will be identified by nameplates.

Can I provide further documentation to the panel at the public hearing?

No. We can only accept written submissions during the submission period and hear those who have requested to speak at a public hearing.

I would like to be heard at a public hearing but cannot attend in person. What other options do I have?

The panel may agree to you speaking at the public hearing by teleconference. Please contact us by calling 131 832 or email us to enquire about this option.

Will the public hearing be accessible?

We have made efforts to ensure that public hearing venues are accessible, but if you have any queries or concerns please call us on 131 832 or email us

English is not my first language. Can someone translate for me?

Yes. Please notify us of your needs by calling 131 832 or by email us so we can arrange for an interpreter.

Date Submitter
8 November 2019 ANDERSON, Susan - written submission (PDF, 24kB)
12 November 2019 NEWMAN, Adam - written submission (PDF, 20kB)
NEWMAN, Adam - mapping submission (KML, 282kB)
12 November 2019 O'HARA, Anthony - written submission (PDF, 87kB)
O'HARA, Anthony - mapping submission 1 (KML, 288kB)
O'HARA, Anthony - mapping submission 2 (KML, 330kB)
O'HARA, Anthony - mapping submission 3 (KML, 336kB)
14 November 2019 MAYALL, Rene - written submission (PDF, 19kB)
26 November 2019 YOUNG, David - written submission (PDF, 19kB)
28 November 2019 BLENKHORN, George - written submission (PDF, 76kB)
2 December 2019 PRSAV-T - written submission (PDF, 154kB)
3 December 2019 WALES, Susan - written submission (PDF, 19kB)

To open KMZ format files, you will need Geographic Information Systems software such as Google Earth.

Disclaimer: the views expressed in submissions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of the Victorian Electoral Commission.

If you would like to receive any of these files in a different format, please email the representation reviews team.

Key dates

Thursday 7 November 2019
7.00 pm – information session
Council Chamber, Civic Centre, 20 Siding Avenue, Officer

Wednesday 6 November 2019
Preliminary submissions open

Wednesday 4 December 2019
5.00 pm - preliminary submissions close

Wednesday 5 February 2020
Preliminary report published
Response submissions open

Wednesday 4 March 2020
5.00 pm - response submissions close

Tuesday, 10 March 2020
7.00 pm – public hearing
Council Chamber, Civic Centre, 20 Siding Avenue, Officer

Wednesday 1 April 2020
Final report release