Melbourne District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Melbourne is Ellen Sandell (Australian Greens)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Northern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Melbourne District.

    Melbourne District lost:

    • 6,608 voters to Brunswick District (Carlton North and Princes Hill, including the Melbourne General Cemetery and Princes Park)
    • 46 voters to Essendon District (part of Flemington, including Flemington Racecourse and the Royal Agricultural Society Showgrounds).

    Melbourne District gained:

    • 1,195 voters from Brunswick District (part of Parkville).
  • Two-candidate-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-candidate-preferred (2CP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2CP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 19,657 48.4%
    Greens 20,993 51.6%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2CP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 17,413 48.3%
    Greens 18,630 51.7%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1856-59* Unaffiliated
    1889-1900 Conservative
    1900-01 ALP
    1901-07 Conservative
    1907-08 Fusion
    1908 Liberal
    1908-55 ALP
    1955 Anti-Communist Labor
    1955-2014 ALP
    2014-present Australian Greens

    * Melbourne District was removed in 1859 and created again in 1889.