State elections

The State Government makes decisions about issues that affect Victorians, for example:

  • hospitals
  • crime prevention
  • education and training
  • transport and road safety.

When is the next State election?

State elections are held on the last Saturday in November every four years.

The next State election day will be Saturday 27 November 2026.


State elections are attendance elections. Voters can cast their vote at any voting centre in Victoria on election day.

There are also options for:

  • early voting
  • postal voting
  • overseas and interstate voting.

Who has to vote

You must enrol and vote in a State election if you:

  • are 18 years or older
  • are an Australian citizen
  • have lived in Victoria for longer than a month.

If you are enrolled and do not vote, you may get a fine.

Who you elect

The Parliament of Victoria is divided into:

  • the Legislative Assembly (Lower House)
  • the Legislative Council (Upper House)

In a State election, you are voting for:

  • one person to represent your area in the Lower House – this area is known as a District
  • five people to represent your area in the Upper House – this area is known as a Region.

The people you elect are known as Members of Parliament (MPs).

The Lower House

There are 88 MPs in the Lower House, one for each District in Victoria. The party or coalition with majority support in the Lower House forms the Victorian Government.

The Upper House

There are 40 MPs in the Upper House, five MPs for each of the eight Regions in Victoria. Upper House MPs review legislation that has been passed by Lower House MPs.