What are electoral boundaries?

Victoria is divided into:

  • 88 districts
  • 8 regions
  • 79 local councils.


There are 88 districts in Victoria.

Voters in a district elect one member of Parliament to represent them in Victoria's Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly is also known as the lower house. 

The party, or coalition of parties, that wins the majority of lower house seats forms the Victorian Government.

Browse districts


There are 8 regions in Victoria.

Each region is made up of 11 districts.

Voters in a region elect 5 members of Parliament to represent them in Victoria's Legislative Council. The Legislative Council is also known as the upper house.

The job of upper house members of Parliament is to review laws that are passed by lower house members of Parliament.

Browse regions

Local councils

There are 79 local councils in Victoria.

Voters elect councillors to represent them in the local council for their area.

Councillors make decisions about local issues, such as:

  • rubbish collection
  • parks and sporting grounds
  • libraries
  • building permits.

Browse local councils

Which boundaries cover where I live?

To find which district, region or local council you are in, search your address below.

Quick search

Enter your enrolled address and select a result from the dropdown. Then click through to read information about your district, region, or local council.

Your address did not match a Victorian electorate. It may be incorrect, or you are entering an address outside of Victoria. Please check and try again. We are experiencing some technical difficulties. Please try again later. Please pick an address from the dropdown list rather than hitting enter or using your browser's autocomplete.
Icon of a map of Victoria