Ashwood District

The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries created the new Ashwood District.

Region this district is in

This district is in Southern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    This new district is made up of most of the removed Burwood District.

    Ashwood District is made up of:

    • 24,506 voters from Burwood District (Ashburton, Ashwood, and parts of Burwood, Chadstone and Glen Iris)
    • 2,363 voters from Forest Hill District (part of Burwood East)
    • 4,646 voters from Hawthorn District (part of Glen Iris)
    • 19,429 voters from Mount Waverley District (most of Mount Waverley).

    These changes officially come into effect on 1 November 2022.

  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP (Burwood District)

    Party Votes %
    ALP 20,132 53.3%
    Liberal 17,650 46.7%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 23,093 52%
    Liberal 21,323 48%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.