Bentleigh District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Bentleigh is Nick Staikos (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Southern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Bentleigh District.

    Bentleigh District lost:

    • 2,644 voters to Brighton District (parts of Brighton East, Hampton East and Moorabbin)
    • 1,600 voters to Sandringham District (parts of Hampton East and Moorabbin).

    Bentleigh District gained:

    • 8,806 voters from Clarinda District (parts of Bentleigh East and Cheltenham)
    • 2,119 voters from Sandringham District (parts of Cheltenham and Highett).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 22,811 61.9%
    Liberal 14,031 38.1%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 26,184 61.4%
    Liberal 16,428 38.6%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1967-79 Liberal
    1979-92 ALP
    1992-2002 Liberal
    2002-2010 ALP
    2010-2014 Liberal
    2014-present ALP