Brunswick District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Brunswick is Tim Read (Australian Greens)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Northern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Brunswick District.

    Brunswick District lost:

    • 1,195 voters to Melbourne District (part of Parkville)
    • 14,731 voters to Pascoe Vale District (parts of Brunswick West, Coburg and Pascoe Vale South).

    Brunswick District gained:

    • 6,608 voters from Melbourne District (Carlton North and Princes Hill, including the Melbourne General Cemetery and Princes Park)
    • 6,927 voters from Richmond District (most of Fitzroy North).
  • Two-candidate-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-candidate-preferred (2CP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2CP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 21,586 49.4%
    Greens 22,113 50.6%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2CP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 20,123 48%
    Greens 21,790 52%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1904-55 ALP
    1955* Anti-Communist Labor
    1976-92** ALP
    2002-2018 ALP
    2018-present Australian Greens

    * Brunswick District was removed in in 1955 and created again in 1976.

    ** Brunswick District was removed in 1992 and created again in 2002.