Eureka District

The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries created the new Eureka District.

Region this district is in

This district is in Western Victoria Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    This new district is made up of most of the removed Buninyong District.

    Eureka District is made up of:

    • 33,035 voters from Buninyong District (Ballan, Bungaree, Buninyong, Canadian, Elaine, Enfield, Eureka, Golden Point, Gordon, Greendale, Grenville, Lal Lal, Lethbridge, Meredith, Mount Clear, Mount Egerton, Mount Helen, Mount Pleasant, Mount Wallace, Wallace and Yendon; most of Ballarat East)
    • 13,258 voters from Melton District (Bacchus Marsh, Darley and Maddingley)
    • 3,071 voters from Polwarth District (Inverleigh, Pitfield, Rokewood, Shelford and Teesdale)
    • 3,112 voters from Wendouree District (Bakery Hill and Brown Hill; part of Ballarat East).

    These changes officially come into effect on 1 November 2022.

  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP (Buninyong District)

    Party Votes %
    ALP 24,108 62.2%
    Liberal 14,627 37.8%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 25,397 59.6%
    Liberal 17,212 40.4%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.