Footscray District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Footscray is Katie Hall (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Western Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Footscray District.

    Footscray District lost:

    • 20,693 voters to Laverton District (Braybrook, Tottenham; most of Sunshine West; parts of Brooklyn and Sunshine).

    Footscray District gained:

    • 15,448 voters from Williamstown District (Kingsville and Seddon; most of Yarraville).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 32,642 78.1%
    Liberal 9,147 21.9%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 30,349 77.6%
    Liberal 8,744 22.4%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1877-79 Unaffiliated
    1879-94 Liberal
    1894-99 ALP
    1899-1904* Liberal
    1927-present ALP

    * Footscray District was removed in 1904 and created again in 1927.