Hastings District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Hastings is Neale Burgess (Liberal)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Eastern Victoria Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Hastings District.

    Hastings District lost:

    • 7,590 voters to Bass District (Cannons Creek, Pearcedale, Tooradin and Warneet; most of Devon Meadows; parts of Clyde and Cranbourne South).

    Hastings District gained:

    • 3,701 voters from Nepean District (Balnarring, Balnarring Beach, Merricks Beach and Somers; part of Bittern).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 21,516 48.9%
    Liberal 22,447 51.1%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 20,356 50.01%
    Liberal 20,344 49.99%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    2002-2006 ALP
    2006-present Liberal