Polwarth District

Region this district is in

This district is in Western Victoria Region.

District information

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Polwarth District.

    Polwarth District lost:

    • 3,071 voters to Eureka District (Inverleigh, Pitfield, Rokewood, Shelford and Teesdale)
    • 5,275 voters to Geelong District (Bannockburn, Batesford, Fyansford, Gheringhap, Murgheboluc, Russells Bridge, Stonehaven and Sutherlands Creek)
    • 1,591 voters to Lowan District (Darlington, Dundonnell, Ellerslie, Hexham, Mortlake, Pura Pura and Woorndoo)
    • 390 voters to Ripon District (most of Pittong and Skipton)
    • 3,285 voters to South-West Coast District (Ballangeich, Framlingham East, Garvoc, Glenormiston South, Kolora, Laang, Naringal, Naringal East, Nirranda, Nirranda East, Nirranda South, Noorat, Noorat East, Nullawarre, Peterborough, Terang and The Sisters).

    Polwarth District gained:

    • 16,575 voters from South Barwon District (Bellbrae, Bells Beach, Jan Juc, Paraparap and Torquay; part of Freshwater Creek).
  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1889-94 Conservative
    1894-99 Liberal
    1899-1902 Conservative Liberal
    1902-07 Conservative
    1907-08 Fusion
    1908-09 Conservative
    1909-17 Fusion Liberal/Liberal
    1917-18 Economy
    1918-40 National/UAP
    1940-49 Country
    1949-present LCP/Liberal