Tarneit District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Tarneit is Sarah Connolly (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Western Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Tarneit District.

    Tarneit District lost:

    • 16,786 voters to Laverton District (Laverton North, Truganina and Williams Landing; parts of Laverton and Tarneit).

    Tarneit District gained:

    • 2,446 voters from Werribee District (part of Hoppers Crossing).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 30,525 68%
    Liberal 14,350 32%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 24,579 67.9%
    Liberal 11,638 32.1%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    2002-present ALP