Brighton District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Brighton is James Newbury (Liberal)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Southern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Brighton District.

    Brighton District gained:

    • 2,644 voters from Bentleigh District (parts of Brighton East, Hampton East and Moorabbin).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 18,940 48.9%
    Liberal 19,827 51.1%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 20,230 49.5%
    Liberal 20,641 50.5%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1856-62 Unaffiliated
    1862-71 Liberal
    1871-1900 Conservative
    1900-02 Conservative Liberal
    1902-07 Conservative
    1907-08 Fusion
    1908-09 Conservative
    1909-24 Fusion Liberal/Liberal/National
    1924 Liberal
    1924-27 National
    1927-28 Independent National
    1928-37 National/United Australia Party
    1937-43 Independent
    1943-45 United Australia Party/Liberal
    1945 Ministerial Liberal
    1945-52 Liberal/Liberal and Country Party
    1952-55 Electoral Reform League/Victorian Liberal
    1955-present Liberal and Country Party/Liberal