Gippsland South District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Gippsland South is Danny O'Brien (The Nationals)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Eastern Victoria Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Gippsland South District.

    Gippsland South District gained:

    • 4,074 voters from Morwell District (Balook, Boolarra, Boolarra South, Budgeree, Cowwarr, Grand Ridge, Jeeralang, Jeeralang Junction, Jumbuk, Toongabbie, Yinnar and Yinnar South; part of Glengarry).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 12,797 34.7%
    National 24,110 65.3%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 14,419 35.8%
    National 25,900 64.2%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1859-75 Unaffiliated
    1875-77 Liberal
    1877-78 Unaffiliated
    1878-86 Liberal
    1886-89 Conservative
    1889-93 Liberal
    1893-94 Conservative
    1894-99 Liberal
    1899-1902 Conservative Liberal
    1902-07 Conservative
    1907-08 Fusion
    1908-09 Liberal
    1909-27 Fusion Liberal/Liberal/National
    1927 Independent
    1927-29 National
    1929-70 Country
    1970-73 Liberal
    1973-80 Country/Nationals
    1980-82 Liberal
    1982-present Nationals