Yan Yean District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Yan Yean is Danielle Green (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Northern Victoria Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Yan Yean District.

    Yan Yean District lost:

    • 3,049 voters to Eildon District (Hurstbridge and Nutfield; most of Cottles Bridge)
    • 9,910 voters to Eltham District (Wattle Glen; most of Diamond Creek)
    • 10,041 voters to Kalkallo District (most of Beveridge and Wallan).

    Yan Yean District gained:

    • 1,370 voters from Euroa District (Heathcote Junction; most of Wandong; parts of Kinglake National Park and Mount Disappointment State Forest)
    • 1,835 voters from Mill Park District (part of South Morang)
    • 37 voters from Thomastown District (part of Wollert).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 32,999 67%
    Liberal 16,234 33%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 22,664 66.9%
    Liberal 11,213 33.1%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1992-present ALP