Melton District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Melton is Stephen John McGhie (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Western Victoria Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Melton District.

    Melton District lost:

    • 13,258 voters to Eureka District (Bacchus Marsh, Darley and Maddingley).

    Melton District gained:

    • 1,089 voters from Kororoit District (Grangefields and Thornhill Park; most of Mount Cottrell)
    • 641 voters from Macedon District (Toolern Vale).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 23,305 54.9%
    Liberal 19,126 45.1%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 18,220 55%
    Liberal 14,894 45%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1992-present ALP