Oakleigh District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Oakleigh is Steve Dimopoulos (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Southern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Oakleigh District.

    Oakleigh District lost:

    • 576 voters to Mulgrave District (part of Mulgrave).

    Oakleigh District gained:

    • 8,130 voters from Clarinda District (most of Clayton and Oakleigh South).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 23,587 65.8%
    Liberal 12,268 34.2%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 27,680 66.1%
    Liberal 14,196 33.9%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1927-32 ALP
    1932 Independent UAP
    1932-37 UAP
    1937-47 ALP
    1947-50 Liberal/LCP
    1950 Independent Liberal
    1950-61 ALP
    1961-79 LCP/Liberal
    1979-92 ALP
    1992-99 Liberal
    1999-present ALP