Greater Geelong City Council profile

The City of Greater Geelong is divided into twelve wards. Windermere Ward is in the north and includes Lara and Point Wilson. Corio Ward includes part of Corio and Norlane. Cowie Ward includes part of North Geelong, Batesford, Bell Post Hill, Bell Park and Hamlyn Heights. Kildare Ward includes Herne Hill, Manifold Heights and Newtown. Brownbill Ward covers Geelong West, Geelong and parts of South and East Geelong. Deakin Ward includes Highton, Wandana Heights and Waurn Ponds. Kardinia Ward includes Belmont. Austin Ward includes Newcomb, Whittington and Breakwater. Buckley Ward in the south includes Grovedale, Connewarre and Barwon Heads. Cheetham Ward includes Leopold and Drysdale. Coryule Ward includes Portarlington, Indented Head and part of Clifton Springs. Beangala Ward includes Ocean Grove and Point Lonsdale.

Features of the council

Greater Geelong City Council covers 1279.89 sqKm.

City of Greater Geelong is divided into twelve wards.

Current Mayor and Councillors

There are currently no sitting councillors for Greater Geelong City Council, after the Council was dismissed in April 2016 by an Act of Parliament. The next general election for Greater Geelong City Council will be October 2017.

This structure came into effect at the November 2008 election as a result of an electoral representation review conducted in 2008. For more information about previous representation reviews, visit the Greater Geelong City Council representation review page.

You can find out more about the Greater Geelong City Council by visiting its website: (external link).

Please rate this page from 1 to 5 where 1 is unhelpful and 5 is very helpful