Melbourne City Council profile

Melbourne City Council is unsubdivided and includes the suburbs of Flemington, Kensington, West Melbourne, Parkville, North Melbourne, Carlton North, Carlton, Docklands, the Melbourne CBD, East Melbourne, and south of the Yarra River it includes Port Melbourne, South Wharf, Southbank and South Yarra.

Features of the council

Melbourne City Council covers 37.6407 sqKm.

City of Melbourne is unsubdivided. There is a total of nine councillors plus the Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor.

As the result of a representation review, the number of councillors representing the City of Melbourne increased to nine (not including the Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor) as of the October 2012 general election.

Current Leadership Team

CAPP, Sally (Lord Mayor) - (council by-election)
WOOD, Arron (Deputy Lord Mayor)

Current Councillors

Melbourne City Council (9 councillors)
LOUEY, Kevin
REECE, Nicholas
OKE, Cathy
PINDER-MORTIMER, Beverley (council countback results)
LIU, Philip Le
WATTS, Jackie
FRANCES GILLEY, Nicolas (declared an elected candidate by VCAT on 14 March 2017)
RILEY, Susan (declared an elected candidate by VCAT on 14 March 2017)

Note: The Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) conducted an inquiry into the 2016 Melbourne City Council election of councillors. On 14 March 2017, VCAT President Justice Greg Garde AO RFD ordered that Michael Caiafa, who was originally declared elected, was not duly elected and that Nicolas Frances Gilley and Susan Riley, who were not originally declared elected, were duly elected as councillors of Melbourne City Council. One of the nine councillor positions was vacant at the time of VCAT’s orders.

You can find out more about the Melbourne City Council by visiting its website: (external link).