Narracan District profile

Features of the District

Location:Narracan District is a rural electorate located south-east of Melbourne.
Area:4,452 square kilometres.
Towns:Buln Buln, Bunyip, Darnum, Drouin, Erica, Garfield, Jindivick, Longwarry, Maryknoll, Moe, Mount Baw Baw Alpine Village, Nar Nar Goon, Narracan, Neerim South, Nilma, Noojee, Rawson, Thorpdale, Trafalgar, Tynong, Walhalla, Warragul, Willow Grove and Yarragon.
Features:Narracan derives its name from the Aboriginal word Narraguan, which means ‘crow’. Industries in the area include dairy farming, agriculture, timber production, mining and manufacturing. Features of the electorate are the Baw Baw National Park, the Thomson Dam and the old goldmining area of Walhalla.
Upper House
Eastern Victoria Region
Statistical profile based on 2011 Census data (link to pdf)

Sitting Member

Gary Blackwood - Liberal (Parliament website, external link)

Election Results

2014 State election results – Narracan District
2010 State election results – Narracan District
2006 State election results – Narracan District
2002 State election results – Narracan District

Historical pattern

Please rate this page from 1 to 5 where 1 is unhelpful and 5 is very helpful