Ovens Valley District profile

Features of the District

Location:Ovens Valley District is a rural electorate located north-east of Melbourne.
Area:9,628 square kilometres.
Towns:Bright, Bundalong, Cheshunt, Cobram, Dinner Plain, Eldorado, Glenrowan, Greta, Harrietville, Hotham Heights, Katamatite, King Valley, Milawa, Myrtleford, Oxley, Porepunkah, Springhurst, Tungamah, Wangaratta, Whitfield, Whorouly, Yarrawonga and Yarroweyah.
Features:The electorate is centred on the Ovens River, and stretches from the Victorian Alps north to the Murray River, then west to Cobram. Industries in the area include tourism, fruit growing and wine making. The Mount Hotham ski resort is in the south-east of the District. Natural features include the Alpine and Mount Buffalo National Parks.
Upper House
Northern Victoria Region