Ripon District profile

Features of the District

Location:Ripon District is a rural electorate located north-west of Melbourne.
Area:16,761 square kilometres.
Towns:Ararat, Avoca, Bealiba, Beaufort, Bridgewater on Loddon, Buangor, Cardigan, Carisbrook, Charlton, Clunes, Creswick, Donald, Dunolly, Eddington, Elmhurst, Glenorchy, Great Western, Inglewood, Landsborough, Lexton, Lucas, Marnoo, Maryborough, Miners Rest, Moonambel, Newbridge, Snake Valley, St Arnaud, Stawell, Stuart Mill, Talbot, Tarnagulla and Wedderburn.
Features:The District is a centre of agriculture, wine making, timber industries, manufacturing, wool production, paper milling, knitting mills and tourism. Natural features include the Pyrenees Ranges, Mt Langi Ghiran and Kooyoora State Park.
Upper House
Western Victoria Region