Western Victoria Region profile

Features of the Region

Area:79,438 square kilometres.
Towns:Western Victoria Region is a mixed urban and rural electorate. The principal urban centres in the Region are Geelong, Victoria’s largest provincial city, and Ballarat, Victoria’s largest inland city. Other major towns are Colac, Warrnambool, Portland, Hamilton, Ararat, Stawell, Horsham and Maryborough.
Features:Rural industries in the Region include grain, wool and wine production. Along the coast are many beach resorts, such as Queenscliff, Anglesea, Lorne, Apollo Bay and Port Fairy. Natural features include the Otway Ranges, the Grampians, Mt Arapiles, the Little Desert, Loch Ard Gorge and the Werribee and Lerderderg Gorges.
Districts:Bellarine District
Buninyong District
Geelong District
Lara District
Lowan District
Melton District
Polwarth District
Ripon District
South Barwon District
South-West Coast District
Wendouree District

Sitting Members

Simon Ramsay - Liberal (Parliament website, external link)
Jaala Pulford - ALP (Parliament website, external link)
Josh Morris - Liberal (Parliament website, external link)
Gayle Tierney - ALP (Parliament website, external link)
James Purcell - Vote 1 Local Jobs (Parliament website, external link)

Election Results

2014 State election results - Western Victoria Region
2010 State election results - Western Victoria Region
2006 State election results - Western Victoria Region