Yarra Ranges Shire Council profile

Yarra Ranges Shire Council is divided into nine single-councillor wards. Billanook Ward includes most of Mount Evelyn and Lilydale. Chandler Ward includes Silvan, Macclesfield and Wandin North, most of Monbulk, Seville and Kalorama, and parts of Mount Evelyn and Montrose. Chirnside Ward includes Chirnside Park and part of Mooroolbark. Lyster Ward includes Belgrave, Belgrave Heights, Belgrave South, Selby, Kallista, Tecoma, Sherbrooke, Menzies Creek and The Patch, and parts of Upwey, Lysterfield, Narre Warren East and Monbulk. Melba Ward includes parts of Lilydale and Mooroolbark. O’Shannassy Ward includes Yarra Junction, Warburton, Woori Yallock, Launching Place, Millgrove, McMahons Creek, Gladysdale, Powelltown and Hoddles Creek. Ryrie Ward will include Yarra Glen, Healesville, Coldstream and Badger Creek. Streeton Ward includes Tremont, Ferny Creek, Sassafras and Mount Dandenong, most of Upwey and Olinda and parts of Upper Ferntree Gully, Kalorama and Montrose. Walling Ward includes most of Kilsyth and parts of Mooroolbark and Montrose.

Features of the council

Yarra Ranges Shire Council covers 2,467.99 sqKm.

Yarra Ranges Shire Council is divided into nine single-councillor wards. There is a total of nine councillors.

Current Councillors

Billanook Ward (1 councillor)

Chandler Ward (1 councillor)

Chirnside Ward (1 councillor)
HIGGINS, Richard

Lyster Ward (1 councillor)

Melba Ward (1 councillor)
AVERY, Terence John

O'Shannassy Ward (1 councillor)

Ryrie Ward (1 councillor)

Streeton Ward (1 councillor)

Walling Ward (1 councillor)
COX, Len

This structure came into effect at the 2016 local council elections following a representation review in 2015. For more information about the review, visit the Yarra Ranges Shire Council representation reviews page.

You can find out more about the Yarra Ranges Shire Council by visiting its website: www.yarraranges.vic.gov.au (external link).